Utah Concealed Weapons Permit
Now that you are decided that you have to bear arms and carry a concealed weapon. It doesn’t really translate that you sided to violence rather it means that want to be able to protect what is dear to you. At this point, you should have made up your mind that you want this as the application process will not be easy. In January of this year the issue of Utah becoming a “Constitutional Carry State” has been reintroduced but was vetoed by Governor Gary Herbert. Hence, if you want to carry a concealed weapon then you are required to have a Concealed Weapons Permit and it is a good thing as this permit means that the State of Utah determines that you are responsible enough to carry a concealed weapon.
Know if you are eligible
The State of Utah’s Bureau of Criminal Identification regulates the issuance of Concealed Firearms Permits (CFP). The minimum requirements for the CFP application are as follows:
Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
- has not convicted of a felony;
- has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
- has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
- has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
- has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
Steps to Apply
After assessing yourself against the minimum requirements that the State of Utah has set, you can then proceed to the next steps. You need to complete and pass a state mandated class (Weapon Familiarity Certification). The class instructor should be certified by the Utah’s Bureau of Criminal Identification.
Next, you need to fill out the application form for CFP. The application form can be downloaded from Utah’s Department of Public Safety’s website. The application form should be accompanied by a photocopy of your driver’s license, a passport quality picture (BCI offers for $ 15, you can go to Walgreens and get it cheaper), one fingerprint card (BCI offers at $ 15 for 3 cards, or check with your local police department). If you live in a state that recognizes the State of Utah’s CFPs then you can submit your home issued CFP. (The rule of reciprocity applies,U.C.A. 76-10-523). Then lastly, you will be asked to pay a non-refundable fee of $ 46 for Utah’s residents and $ 51 for nonresidents. After submitting your application, you’ll just have to wait for your permit to be mailed to your address and this process may take up to 60 days.